‘Newfoundlanders are God’s gift,’ says Jamaican-born trainer after outpouring of support

allthecanadianpolitics:

Machel Rayner is a fitness guy. He thrives on helping people get healthy and well.

But after he told CBC News on Thursday about his immigration troubles, he has garnered national attention and job offers have poured in from different sectors.

“The RNC [Royal Newfoundland Constabulary] called me and offered me their recruitment process, because they want someone like me,” Rayner said Friday.

Similar offers have been made by small businesses in St. John’s. Even the sheriff’s office in Gander reached out, Rayner said.

Memorial University’s school of human kinetics and recreation has created a fundraising campaign to help the former student with financial challenges.

“It has been wonderful, wonderful feedback and support from all walks of life.… I know a lot of people where I worked, they support me. But at this magnitude, it was the best feeling ever.”

Continue Reading.

‘Newfoundlanders are God’s gift,’ says Jamaican-born trainer after outpouring of support

Leave a comment