when you’re naming the Adversary, Destroyer of Kings, Angel of the Bottomless Pit, Great Beast that is called Dragon, Prince of This World, Father of Lies, Spawn of Satan, and Lord of Darkness:
I don’t know if anyone has really posted about this, but it’s really been bothering me. So many people draw Aziraphale as white, but draw Crowley as poc. On top of it, the majority of people who do this seem to draw him as just vaguely poc, like maybe he’s part native american or latinx or something, which is even worse, as it just associates vaguely being poc as being evil, rather than this person happens to be poc and here is his race.
People have associated poc with demons for a long ass time and because of that it just seems natural. It’s part of “character development” to have Crowley with dark skin and hair and Aziraphale with pale skin, but you can look at the antisemitism in Tangeled and Snow White to see how this aspect of character development just feeds on prejudice against minorities and perpetuates it.
I’m not saying anyone is doing it on purpose, but just asking, as a person of color, to please stop this. Even if you have to make Crowley’s skin lighter from now on. If your design of Aziraphale is white, you can’t have Crowley be a person of color without it being racist, even if racism wasn’t your intention.
Keira Knightley photographed by Tom Craig for Harper’s Bazaar UK (December 2018)
just realized an acquaintance of mine has borrowed my copy of Murder on the Orient Express for nearly (if not over) a year now… might have to send her an email as a polite reminder lol
the DA didn’t make the case for the crime and i went into the deliberation room knowing that. i also knew a half-dozen white orange county folks might not see it that way. the defendant was latino, there was a gang charge in addition to robbery.
sure enough, as we went around the table to give our first impressions, the white ladies used language around “gut instinct” and “he shouldn’t be hanging out with bad people” and the like. others were undecided because there was so much unreliable testimony.
they got to me and i flatly said “i have reasonable doubts.” i stated some of my reasoning and heads started to nod. the next 3 jurors to talk after me were hispanic. they stated that they understood why this might be confusing, and then gave some personal perspectives about growing up in disadvantage neighborhoods, how not everyone is a gangster just because they live there. one white lady said “well, you know, they should really move if that’s the case.”
the discussion opened up and it went right to gangs, right to how the defendant shouldn’t be hanging out with gang members. everyone had an opinion about how the defendant looked, or talked, or that he was drinking a 40 just before the robbery, or that he was related to a gang member. they went right to that.
but that’s not what we were supposed to decide on. we were there for a robbery as the primary charge. a robbery that i very clearly felt the state had not been able to pin on this guy.
so… being the loud mouth that i sometimes am… i interrupted and said “let’s all turn to page 14 in the jury instructions and go through what would make the charge ‘guilty’, line by line, and see where we all stand.”
sure enough, when we focused on the actual charge, and the facts actually required for someone to be found guilty, most in the room agreed it wasn’t there. well, except for two white ladies.
so i, also a white lady, helped to walk them through the list. when “gut instinct” or “it’s a bad neighborhood” came up, i kindly pointed out that those are not facts of the case. when i requested that they use the facts of the case to provide reasoning for their position, they both quietly agreed there weren’t any.
and that’s how, in about an hour, we came to a unanimous decision of ‘not guilty’.
i don’t have experience with the court system. and i don’t watch court room based tv dramas. so i was really a blank slate to all this.
i was taken aback at the very clear inherent bias that some jurors displayed, and all the while realizing they didn’t think of themselves as biased. but i was also taken aback by how focusing on the process, the rules, and the facts quickly squashed that line of reasoning.
this has buoyed me a bit, in light of the actions of the aclu over the muslim ban. but it also feels so fragile. so very fragile.
Even under the best circumstances, American juries are very heavily skewed against black people and other people of color.
Very nicely done, @notentirely. As a young black man who has had some close calls with the criminal “justice” system, I want to say thank you for putting your white privilege to good use.
The perfect execution of civic duty. Thank you, op, for being an excellent citizen.
Halloween is tomorrow so here’s a friendly reminder that kids are going to dress up like kids. You’re going to see children in costumes from Steven Universe, Fortnite, Minecraft, maybe undertale. Please, for the love of fuck, be cool. These are children dressing up as characters from video games/ children’s TV shows and your opinions about those shows are irrelevant right now. Don’t be a dick, let children have fun. If a 12 yr old in a Fortnite costume knocks on my door for candy, I’m damn well going to give it to them, and I really hope you all will too.
I’m having a f**king panic attack right now because of a f**king screamer…hey, MostAmazingTop10, get your sh*t straight and never do that again…because you just have an unexpecting, anxiety ridden teen who has nightmares a lot a d*mn panic attack…I hope you’re proud of yourselves…
If any of you see this video, do NOT click on it…you’ll get jumpscared almost immediately…I learned the hard way…I’m crying and shaking and sweating…due to that f**king video…I hope you’re happy you stupid f**king YouTube channel…because you just scarred someone for the rest of her f**king life…
Holy shit guys, this is so fucking legit.
For people with anxiety, here’s the details. When you open the video, you’re greeted with a generic flower field, and a decently animated butterfly.
The butterfly hovers in place for about 3 seconds, before cutting to the actual jump scare. And this one is LOUD. If you have your earbuds in, and your volume fairly low, it will still legit hurt your ears. It’s a full-blow scream.
Please be careful out there guys, there’s been a ridiculous amount of jumpscares lately, even for the spoopy season. 😦
Thank you so much for this addon, I really appreciate it, it makes me glad that someone reblogged this and added details